helen simpson writerHelen Simpson has published six collections of short stories: Four Bare Legs in a Bed; Dear George; Hey Yeah Right Get a Life; Constitutional; In-Flight EntertainmentCockfosters.

A Bunch of Fives: Selected Stories includes twenty-five stories, five from each of her first five collections. She lives in London.

“In novels you expand, you elaborate; you explain when, where, how things are happening; you go on and on. You don’t need to do any of that, really, with a short story. You can just skip all the gossipy stuff and go for the jugular.”


Cockfosters-Helen-Simpson  In-Flight-Entertainment-Helen-Simpson-2  Constitutional-Helen-Simpson  Hey-Yeah-Right-Get-A-Life-Helen-Simpson  Dear-George-Helen-Simpson  Four-Bare-Legs-In-A-Bed-Helen-Simpson  a bunch of fives helen simpson


2011 PEN/O.Henry Prize for Diary of an Interesting Year
2006 Travelling Scholarship (Society of Authors)
2002 E.M.Forster Award, American Academy of Arts and Letters
2001 Hawthornden Prize
1996 Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature
1993 Best of Young British Novelists, Granta
1991 Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year
1991 Somerset Maugham Award